Weekends with you

I

Hey E,

Thanks for taking me to the province with you. This little getaway from the hustle and bustle of the city is exactly what I needed– a pause. A two-day sigh of relief from the demands of work.

But, I also feel guilty for enjoying this too much. You’ve been hunched in front of your desktop since this morning, only pausing to eat with me (Hey, I was just googling all those recipes as I went along. Glad you loved everything I put on your plate). I wish you could rest from work, too. I hate seeing you tired and stressed all the time. Especially when you SHOULD be resting.

Anyway, enough of this. You’ve got my full support, E. Keep doing well.

Love,

R.

II

You’ve been catching yourself fantasizing about the future since yesterday. Closing your eyes, watching your life pan out perfectly with her holding your hand in bed, while watching cheesy or horror films– or simply as you sit quietly together in couch, nestled in the comfortable silence you both created.

You stop yourself every now and then from your fantasies. Saying, Stop. You don’t have to imagine anymore. You’re in the future. The future is now.

You finally get to see her, be with her every day. Hold her hand in the morning– kiss her before she leaves for work, kiss her before you close your eyes to sleep.

You are part of her, as she is part of you.

Finally.

III

My alone feels so good, I’ll only have you if you’re sweeter than my solitude.

Warsan Shire

And, my god, you are.

Leave a Reply

